NEWS RELEASE

Steve Marshall Alabama Attorney General



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 19, 2025

For **press** inquiries only, contact:
Amanda Priest (334) 322-5694
William Califf (334) 604-3230
Page 1 of 1

Attorney General Marshall Files Brief in Defense of President Trump's Efforts to Deport Violent Tren de Aragua Gang

(Montgomery, Ala.) – Alabama Attorney General Steve Marshall joined a coalition of 26 attorneys general in defending the Trump administration's recent actions to combat Venezuelan gang Tren de Aragua. The attorneys general are also calling for a stay of the district court's recent temporary restraining order that halts President Trump's actions to address this violent and dangerous foreign terrorist organization.

"Tren de Aragua is a violent terrorist organization with ties to Nicolas Maduro's regime in Venezuela. TdA is responsible for numerous murders, as well as drug and human trafficking in our country. President Trump has a legitimate constitutional authority to protect our national security and American lives that have been put at risk by this invasion," stated Attorney General Marshall.

The brief asserts that the district court's temporary restraining order should be stayed for two main reasons: it jeopardizes public safety across the United States, and it fails to properly recognize the President's constitutional and statutory authority to protect national security.

Attorney General Marshall stresses that President Trump acted within his rights under the Constitution and the laws of the United States, particularly through the powers granted by Article II. These powers provide the President with the robust authority to take action against foreign threats, including transnational criminal organizations like Tren de Aragua.

In addition to Alabama, the South Carolina and Virginia co-led brief was signed onto by: Alaska, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and West Virginia.

You can read the full brief here.



-30-