

1305 E. WALNUT ST. DES MOINES, IA 50319 515-281-5164 www.iowaattorneygeneral.gov

IOWA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

The Honorable Michael Johnson Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable John Thune Majority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Chuck Schumer Minority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Congressional Leadership:

President Trump has called on Congress to help in his mission to unlock American energy greatness. On his first day in office, he signed a series of historic executive orders, including a declaration of an <u>energy emergency</u>. The purpose of that order was to help create "a reliable, diversified, and affordable supply of energy to drive our Nation's manufacturing, transportation, agriculture, and defense industries, and to sustain the basics of modern life and military preparedness." That same Executive Order made clear that yearround E15 is part of unlocking America's energy-independent future. That is why the undersigned coalition of 16 States are writing this letter.

And on February 14, President Trump <u>established</u> the National Energy Dominance Council. That Council called on using our amazing national assets including "crude oil," "natural gas," and "biofuels." America's farmers are ready to step up and do their part to contribute to America's energy dominance.

Congress also plays a vital role in making that future a reality. And one major component in ensuring America's energy production is unleashed is ensuring the availability of year-round E15 gasoline through legislation. The certainty that such legislation creates will help *all* liquid fuel producers. The key here is that the undersigned Attorneys General recognize that this permanent fix will ensure continued growth and certainty in planning for both renewable fuels like ethanol as well as for refiners and oil producers.

Right now, eight States <u>are entitled</u> to <u>year-round E15</u>. But that creates difficulties for refiners and oil producers that must produce two products—one

for year-round E15 States and another for those States that are left out. On the energy-producer and liquid fuels front, everyone can row in the same direction: year-round E15 creates certainty that allows for planning and strategic growth. Enacting nationwide year-round E15 in Congress avoids the need for temporary emergency measures or even further rulemaking from EPA.

American cars already run on E15. And the bipartisan, bicameral <u>Nationwide Consumer and Fuel Retailer Choice Act of 2025</u> will give all States equal access to E15 year-round. This law will fix the Clean Air Act's exemption that only allows E10 to be sold year-round—despite E10 and E15 having very similar effects on the environment. E15 gas is also meaningfully cheaper than E10—giving relief to Americans' wallets.

There has never been more support from across the energy industry for this reform. The bill is <u>endorsed</u> by the American Petroleum Institute, Renewable Fuels Association, Growth Energy, National Corn Growers Association, National Farmers Union and the National Association of Convenience Stores. Oil producers from the oilmen of Texas and North Dakota to the farmers in Iowa and Nebraska agree: this legislative fix will help jumpstart American energy production.

Sincerely,

Brenn Bird

Brenna Bird Attorney General of Iowa

Steve Marshall Attorney General of Alabama

Treg Taylor Attorney General of Alaska

fam fill

James Uthmeier Attorney General of Florida

topla la

Chris Carr Attorney General of Georgia

Todd Rokita Attorney General of Indiana

Kris Kobach Attorney General of Kansas

lund

Liz Murrill Attorney General of Louisiana

Andrew T. Bailey Attorney General of Missouri

:Ke Hile

Mike Hilgers Attorney General of Nebraska

Drew Wrigley Attorney General of North Dakota

are yost

Dave Yost Attorney General of Ohio

Dave Sunday Attorney General of Pennsylvania

Uan Wilson

Alan Wilson Attorney General of South Carolina

Maty Joully

Marty Jackley Attorney General of South Dakota

Lohn B. M.C. b

John B. McCuskey Attorney General of West Virginia