## **NEWS RELEASE**

## Steve Marshall Alabama Attorney General



## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 27, 2024

For **press** inquiries only, contact:
Amanda Priest (334) 322-5694
William Califf (334) 604-3230
Page 1 of 1

## Alabama Attorney General Joins 26-State Coalition Challenging Biden's Latest Electric Vehicle Mandate

(Montgomery, Ala) – Alabama Attorney General Steve Marshall joined Kentucky Attorney General Russell Coleman and West Virginia Attorney General Patrick Morrisey to announce legal action against the Biden Administration's latest attempt to drive gas-powered cars off the road. Attorney General Marshall is part of a 26-state effort to block the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's (NHTSA) strict fuel efficiency standards in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

The Biden Administration's new rule requires car manufacturers to dramatically increase the average fuel economy of passenger cars and light trucks in less than a decade. The new regulation imposes unworkable standards that leverage the weight of the federal government to require auto manufacturers to produce more electric vehicles. The forced transition to electric vehicles would bypass the free market while increasing costs on families and undermining the reliability of the electric grid.

"The Biden Administration says that its new fuel-efficiency rule gives Americans 'more choice' and promotes 'energy independence,' when the truth is exactly the opposite," Attorney General Steve Marshall said. "This is a continuation of the Biden Administration's war against American energy, and the American people are feeling the effects. With gas prices rising and new regulations piling up on manufacturers, consumers end up paying the price during a time of unprecedented inflation."

Alabama joined the Kentucky and West Virginia-led challenge, along with Alaska, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Wyoming.

Read the challenge filed in the Sixth Circuit.



-30-

