NEWS RELEASE

Steve Marshall Alabama Attorney General



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 17, 2024

For **press** inquiries only, contact:
Amanda Priest (334) 322-5694
William Califf (334) 604-3230
Page 1 of 1

Attorney General Marshall and 24-State Coalition Oppose Unconstitutional Gag Order Against President Trump

(Montgomery, Ala) – Alabama Attorney General Steve Marshall today joined a 24-State coalition urging the district court in Florida to deny the Biden Department of Justice's request for an unconstitutional gag order against President Trump. The gag order would wrongfully silence President Trump in the middle of an election campaign, denying Americans their right to hear from the leading candidate for President.

President Biden's DOJ has requested a broad gag order that prohibits President Trump from criticizing the unprecedented raid of his Mar-a-Lago home. President Biden's attempt to use courts to stop his political rival from criticizing Biden's DOJ is a stunning assault on First Amendment freedoms.

"The American people deserve to hear from the presumptive Republican nominee for President of the United States on issues facing our country, including the Biden Administration's possible misuse of law enforcement to target his political rivals. Biden's requested gag order is a desperate and shocking attempt to silence Trump and skew the election," said Attorney General Marshall. "Biden's Department of Justice is engaged in an unprecedented assault on Trump's First Amendment rights and liberties, and we will continue to hold the line against this radical political prosecution."

The coalitions letter argues that the proposed gag order is unclear, infringes on President Trump's free speech rights, and interferes with American voters' rights to hear what their candidate has to say leading into an election. The brief argues the court should deny the gag order requested against President Trump.

Iowa, Florida, and West Virginia co-led the brief. They were joined by Alaska, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming.

Read the full amicus brief here.

