NEWS RELEASE

Steve Marshall Alabama Attorney General



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 15, 2019

Media inquiries only, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1

Attorney General Steve Marshall Presents Prattville Junior High School With 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence

(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Steve Marshall today presented Prattville Junior High School with an Attorney General's Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence for State Board of Education District 5. Schools were selected as winners for 2018 from each of the eight state school board districts as well as private schools for each* state region.

"In these times, we are all intensely aware of the serious responsibility our schools carry for the safekeeping of our children," said Attorney General Marshall. "The Alabama Safe Schools Awards of Excellence is an important tradition of the Attorney General's Office, to recognize schools throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students safe. With these awards, we honor those who have achieved particularly high standards and set examples that others may follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to protecting the children of Alabama."

In presenting the award today Attorney General Marshall said, "The Attorney General's Office is proud that Prattville Junior High School was selected as one of the 10 winning schools in Alabama for 2018. In making this decision, judges gave a perfect score, noting many things that distinguished Prattville Junior High School: strong collaboration with law enforcement and local emergency officials, excellent implementation of crisis preparation, and strong partnerships with drug and alcohol volunteer programs."

Principal Janice Stockman said, "I believe the most important thing I do for students is to help them feel safe - that way teachers can teach and students can learn. We work hard to cultivate an environment where students take ownership in the school and will tell us when something is awry. It is a privilege to stand among over 1,000 students and feel as safe as in my own home. We are a family and we work to take care of one another. As our motto states this year, we are truly 'better together'. As we stand together, we create a culture of safety, not just checklist of tasks."

Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence winners to the 10 winning schools this spring. Other winning schools throughout the state include Orange Beach Elementary School in Baldwin County, Richland Elementary School in Lee County, Nichols-Lawson Middle School in Talladega County, Eastwood Middle School in Tuscaloosa County, Decatur High School in Morgan County, Hewitt Trussville Middle School in Jefferson County, Morris P-8 School in Madison County, Saint James School in Montgomery County and the Lakeside School in Barbour County.

*No submissions were received this year for a private school in the Northern region of Alabama.

