NEWS RELEASE

Steve Marshall Alabama Attorney General



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 10, 2019

Media inquiries only, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1

Attorney General Steve Marshall Presents Nichols-Lawson Middle School With 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence School Receives This Honor for Second Year in a Row

(MONTGOMERY) — Attorney General Steve Marshall today presented Nichols-Lawson Middle School with an Attorney General's Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence for State Board of Education District 3, for the second year in a row. Schools were selected as winners for 2018 from each of the eight state school board districts as well as private schools for each* state region.

"In these times, we are all intensely aware of the serious responsibility our schools carry for the safekeeping of our children," said Attorney General Marshall. "The Alabama Safe Schools Awards of Excellence is an important tradition of the Attorney General's Office, to recognize schools throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students safe. With these awards, we honor those who have achieved particularly high standards and set examples that others may follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to protecting the children of Alabama."

In presenting the award today Attorney General Marshall said, "The Attorney General's Office is proud that Nichols-Lawson Middle School was selected again as one of the winning schools in Alabama for outstanding school safety. In making this decision, judges cited many things that distinguished Nichols-Lawson Middle School: strong collaboration with local emergency officials and law enforcement; great education on drug abuse, bullying and cyber-bullying prevention; and outstanding effort and commitment for the school safely plan."

Principal Gary Rivers said, "Nichols-Lawson Middle (NLMS) is grateful to be chosen for the second year in a row as a recipient of the Attorney General's Safe School Award. NLMS is a safe and effective school that is orderly, resolute, professional, and works on a continuous basis to improve safety, security, and learning for all. NLMS believes that students, teachers, and administration must learn the art of team work and building in structures for collaboration in order to have an environment that is conducive to teaching and learning. This type of collaboration and support could not be possible without the coalition of our school board, local police and fire departments, EMA, school staff and community."

Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence winners to the 10 winning schools this spring. Other winning schools throughout the state include Orange Beach Elementary School in Baldwin County, Morris P-8 School in Madison County, Richland Elementary School in Lee County, Prattville Junior High School in Autauga County, Eastwood Middle School in Tuscaloosa County, Decatur High School in Morgan County, Hewitt-Trussville Middle School in Jefferson County, Saint James School in Montgomery County and the Lakeside School in Barbour County.

*No submissions were received this year for a private school in the Northern region of Alabama.

