NEWS RELEASE

Steve Marshall Alabama Attorney General



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 7, 2019

Media inquiries only, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1

Attorney General Steve Marshall Presents Morris P-8 School With 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence

(MONTGOMERY) — Attorney General Steve Marshall today presented the Morris P-8 School with an Attorney General's Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence for State Board of Education District 8. Schools were selected as winners for 2018 from each of the eight state school board districts as well as private schools for each* state region.

"In these times, we are all intensely aware of the serious responsibility our schools carry for the safekeeping of our children," said Attorney General Marshall. "The Alabama Safe Schools Awards of Excellence is an important tradition of the Attorney General's Office, to recognize schools throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students safe. With these awards, we honor those who have achieved particularly high standards and set examples that others may follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to protecting the children of Alabama."

In presenting the award today Attorney General Marshall said, "The Attorney General's Office is proud that the Morris P-8 School was selected as one of the 10 winning schools in Alabama for 2018. In making this decision, judges cited an excellent overall safety plan, noting many things that distinguished the Morris P-8 School: well-written information about collaboration with local law enforcement and emergency officials, marked attention to the importance of the school resource officer and of technology, and strong community involvement.

Principal Patricia Boyd said, "It is an honor to receive the 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence. We are blessed by the support given to us by our Police Department and our School Resource Officers who man the 120 cameras placed throughout the school. The Morris P-8 administration, teachers, staff and students work closely with the School Resource Officers and Officer Ray to ensure the safety of all our students and staff. Additionally, the faculty and staff have attended ALICE training and effectively implement various emergency drills. Ongoing efforts are in place to address bullying and cyber-bullying."

Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence winners to the 10 winning schools this spring. Other winning schools throughout the state include Orange Beach Elementary School in Baldwin County, Richland Elementary School in Lee County, Nichols-Lawson Middle School in Talladega County, Prattville Junior High School in Autauga County, Eastwood Middle School in Tuscaloosa County, Decatur High School in Morgan County, Hewitt-Trussville Middle School in Jefferson County, Saint James School in Montgomery County and the Lakeside School in Barbour County.

*No submissions were received this year for a private school in the Northern region of Alabama.



--30--