NEWS RELEASE

Steve Marshall Alabama Attorney General



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 17, 2019

Media inquiries only, contact: Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199 Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491 Page 1 of 1

Attorney General Steve Marshall Presents Hewitt-Trussville Middle School with 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence

(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Steve Marshall today presented Hewitt-Trussville Middle School with an Attorney General's Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence for State Board of Education District 7. Schools were selected as winners for 2018 from each of the eight state school board districts as well as private schools for each* state region.

"In these times, we are all intensely aware of the serious responsibility our schools carry for the safekeeping of our children," said Attorney General Marshall. "The Alabama Safe Schools Awards of Excellence is an important tradition of the Attorney General's Office, to recognize schools throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students safe. With these awards, we honor those who have achieved particularly high standards and set examples that others may follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to protecting the children of Alabama."

In presenting the award today Attorney General Marshall said, "The Attorney General's Office is proud that Hewitt-Trussville Middle School was selected as one of the 10 winning schools in Alabama for 2018. In making this decision, judges cited a great overall safety plan, noting many things that distinguished Hewitt-Trussville Middle School: strong collaboration with local law enforcement and emergency officials, excellent crisis management preparation and training, great utilization of school resource officers, and outstanding mentoring initiatives."

Dr. Lisa Berry, principal, said, "I am so appreciative of the Attorney General's Safe Schools Award for our school, district, and community. It truly takes teamwork on a daily basis. Our students and staff are our top priority each day and we work diligently to provide a safe, supportive, and academically excellent environment where we not only focus on physical safety, but social and emotional safety too. I am very appreciative of the support we receive from our superintendent, Dr. Pattie Neill, our Board of Education, Trussville Police and Fire, our mayor and city council, and our parents."

Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence winners to the 10 winning schools this spring. Other winning schools throughout the state include Orange Beach Elementary School in Baldwin County, Richland Elementary School in Lee County, Nichols-Lawson Middle School in Talladega County, Prattville Junior High School in Autauga County, Eastwood Middle School in Tuscaloosa County, Decatur High School in Morgan County, Morris P-8 School in Madison County, Saint James School in Montgomery County and the Lakeside School in Barbour County.

*No submissions were received this year for a private school in the Northern region of Alabama.



--30--