NEWS RELEASE Luther Strange Alabama Attorney General



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April 18, 2016

For More Information, contact:Mike Lewis(334) 353-2199Joy Patterson(334) 242-7491Page 1 of 1

AG STRANGE ANNOUNCES WINNERS OF 2015 SAFE SCHOOLS INITIATIVE AWARDS OF EXCELLENCE

(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Luther Strange today announced the winners of the 2015 Alabama Safe Schools Awards of Excellence. Since Attorney General Strange reinstituted these awards, the emphasis has been on technological advances dealing with modern safety challenges. As a result of past programs, the Attorney General compiled a "Best Practices" guide, and schools are judged by their implementation of these recommended practices. A panel of judges reviewed nominations to determine a winner from each* of the eight state school board districts as well as private schools for each state region.

"The safety of our children at schools continues to be a paramount concern and we must work together to ensure that Alabama schools take the best possible protective measures," said Attorney General Strange. "Each year, we learn from the successes of those who are recognized for excellence. We commend these outstanding schools, and look forward to implementing Best Practices to keep all Alabama schoolchildren safe from harm."

Awards will be personally presented by Attorney General Strange in coming weeks to 10 winning schools.

Below is a list of the 10 recipients of a 2015 Attorney General's Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence for each State School Board district and each state region for private schools:

District 1, Orange Beach Elementary, Orange Beach, Baldwin County; District 2, Opelika High School, Opelika, Lee County; District 3, Helena Middle School, Helena, Shelby County; *District 4, No submissions were received this year; District 5, Monroe County High School; Monroeville; Monroe County; District 6, Oak Park Middle School, Decatur, Morgan County; District 7, Hewitt-Trussville High School, Trussville, Jefferson County; District 8, Cedar Hill Elementary School, Ardmore, Limestone County; Private School, Northern Region, Riverhill School, Florence, Lauderdale County; Private School, Central Region, Coosa Valley Academy, Harpersville, Shelby County; Private School, Southern Region, Lakeside School, Eufaula, Barbour County.

Note: The Attorney General's compilation of Best Practices may be found at <u>http://www.ago.alabama.gov/Page-AL-Safe-Schools-Initiative-Best-Practices-2013</u>.



--30---