NEWS ADVISORY Luther Strange Alabama Attorney General



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 17, 2014

For More Information, contact:
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Claire Haynes (334) 242-7351
Page 1 of 1

AG STRANGE JOINS AMICUS BRIEF TO PROTECT SECOND AMENDMENT RIGHTS

(MONTGOMERY) –Attorney General Luther Strange has joined an amicus brief, filed by the State of West Virginia and joined also by 19 other Attorneys General, to protect Second Amendment rights.

The brief was filed in the case of <u>Kolbe v. O'Malley</u> in opposition to a restrictive gun law passed by the State of Maryland in 2013. The Attorneys General are asking the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit to reverse a decision by the U.S. District Court of Maryland, which had ruled in favor of the state's ban on numerous guns.

"The State of Maryland has enacted a law that severely restricts the ability of anyone in that State to possess or transfer a number of commonly owned firearms," the Attorneys General said in the amicus brief. "The ban includes some of the most widely owned rifles in the United States, including the AR-15. The law also bans the manufacture, sale, purchase, receipt or transfer of detachable magazines that hold more than ten rounds—the standard magazines on most modern handguns."

The Attorneys General assert that "the weapons banned by the Maryland law fall within the protection of the Second Amendment because they are typically possessed for lawful purposes, including the core protected purpose of self-defense."

Attorney General Strange stated, "This brief is about protecting the Second Amendment rights of law-abiding citizens to bear arms in the defense of themselves and their families. I, and other Attorneys General, believe these fundamental rights deserve the highest protection and that Maryland's gun ban is unconstitutional under principles the Supreme Court has already established."

In addition to Alabama, the States joining West Virginia in the amicus brief are Alaska, Arizona, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah and Wyoming.



--30--