NEWS RELEASE Luther Strange Alabama Attorney General



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 4, 2013

For More Information, contact: Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491 Claire Haynes (334) 242-7351 Page 1 of 1

AG STRANGE PRESENTS BLOUNTSVILLE ELEMENTARY WITH 2013 ATTORNEY GENERAL'S SAFE SCHOOL AWARD

(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Strange presented Blountsville Elementary School with the 2013 Attorney General's Safe School Initiative Award of Excellence at a school assembly today. One school was selected as the winner from each of the Alabama State School Board of Education districts.

"I am honored to award Blountsville Elementary School with a 2013 Award of Excellence for School Board District 5," said Attorney General Strange. "Ensuring safe schools for our students has never been more important, and this program will help us identify the best practices that schools should be using. I look forward to sharing these best practices with other schools."

"School safety is a number one priority for Blount County schools," said Blountsville Elementary Principal Shannon Lakey. "We are continually looking for areas that we can enhance our current level of practice. This award would not be possible without the assistance of the faculty and staff, students, parents, community, and other stakeholders of Blountsville. Our school being recognized for its efforts is a huge honor. We will continue to strive to achieve excellence."

Attorney General Strange is personally presenting the awards for the 2013 Awards of Excellence winners at school assemblies during this fall to the eight winning schools. Attorney General Strange expressed special thanks to the Alabama Farmers Federation and Alfa Insurance for their continued financial support of the Alabama Safe Schools Initiative.

* In April, Attorney General Strange announced that he is reinstituting the Attorney General's Safe Schools Initiative with a new emphasis on encouraging technological advances to deal with the challenges experienced by today's schools and students. Nominations were received between April and June, and in August a panel of judges reviewed the nominations to determine a winner from each of the eight state school board districts.



--30---